Winners of the first annual Philly Geek Awards cosplay contest

💡 Get Philly smart 💡
with BP’s free daily newsletter

Read the news of the day in less than 10 minutes — not that we’re counting.

Cosplayers brought their A game to the Philly Geek Awards this weekend. Wonder Woman showed up, Team Rocket made and appearance, and yes, Dr. Strange came through.

But the winner is none other than Miss Frizzle, played by Amelia Longo. That’s right, The Frizz took some time off from Walkerville Elementary to attend the ceremony. No sign of the Magic School Bus, though.

Amelia Longo as Miss Frizzle Credit: Billy Penn

Saturday’s black tie affair at String Theory School in Center City brought more than 350 Philly gamers, makers, scientists and geeks of all kinds together. We hosted the Geek Awards’ first-ever cosplay contest in our role as media partner, and we brought the judgment.

The rules were simple: Dress up as your favorite character from the world of comics, manga, TV, movies or, because why not, 18th-century colonial Philadelphia, and our team of experts staffers was there with judgement in our eyes.

Custom costumes got extra-special attention, so props to those with homemade or hand-crafted threads. We were also looking for topical costumes. Sure, everybody loves a good Captain America, but bonus points for Kid Hazo — cosplaying himself.

Our second place winner was Asya Shane Milton as Bilbo Baggins.

Asya Shane Milton as Bilbo Baggins Credit: Billy Penn

Picking up bronze was Team Rocket, as played by Paulina Gallo and Jedi Weller.

Paulina Gallo and Jedi Weller as Team Rocket Credit: Billy Penn

Congrats to all the award winners and cosplayers. Our winner gets a Billy Penn prize pack, which includes two tickets to the Philly POPS’ Star Wars Celebration in October.

Check out some of the other great contestants:

Amy Miskiewicz as Spider Gwen Credit: Billy Penn
Mo Mankiang as Seraphina Picquery, Head of the Magical Congress of the US (from Harry Potter/Fanatastic Beasts) Credit: Billy Penn
Neil Bardhan as Darth Vader Credit: Billy Penn
Amber Gohn as Wonder Woman Credit: Billy Penn
Yalitza Perez as Jem from Jem and the Holograms Credit: Billy Penn
Tim Winkler as Dr. Strange Credit: Billy Penn
Christiana Deemer (and friend) as members of Starfleet Credit: Billy Penn
Kid Hazo as himself Credit: Billy Penn

If you missed it, here’s the complete list of 2017 Geek Awards winners.