Farewell, summer: Here are the closing dates for Philly’s public pools

All the community swim spots will be shut down for the season by Aug. 24.

The 2017 closing sign at Marian Anderson pool

The 2017 closing sign at Marian Anderson pool

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn
michaelawinberg-2020-2

Farewell, Summer 2018. The season doesn’t officially end until late September, of course, and we’ve still got a few weeks before Labor Day, but there’s a reliable indicator telling us right now to pack up our swimsuits and finish back-to-school shopping:

Philly’s public pools have started to close for the season.

Some have closed already. The first goodbyes were bid on Aug. 9 to neighborhood pools at Jacobs Playground and MLK Rec. At least one public pool has shut its doors every day since. They’ll all be closed by Friday, Aug. 24.

Here are the 2018 shutdown dates for Philly’s community pools:

Thursday, Aug. 9

Friday, Aug. 10

Saturday, Aug. 11

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Kelly Pool in Fairmount Park will close on Aug. 24.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Sunday, Aug. 12

Monday, Aug. 13

Tuesday, Aug. 14

Wednesday, Aug. 15

Thursday, Aug. 16

The pool at Samuel Recreation Center is set to open on Friday, June 21.

The pool at Samuel Recreation Center is set to close on Aug. 24.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Friday, Aug. 17

Sunday, Aug. 19

Monday, Aug. 20

Tuesday, Aug. 21

A swimmer pushes off the pool wall to swim a lap the length of Kelly Pool.

A swimmer pushes off the pool wall to swim a lap the length of Kelly Pool.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Wednesday, Aug. 22

Thursday, Aug. 23

Friday, Aug. 24

A lifeguard at Kelly Pool

Lifeguards will work at Kelly Pool until it closes next Friday.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Let the news come to you

Billy Penn’s free morning newsletter brings you the latest Philly news that everyone will be talking about in your Slack channel.

Nice to see you (instead of a paywall)

Billy Penn’s mission is to provide free, quality information to Philadelphians through our articles and daily newsletter. If you believe local journalism is key to a healthy community, join us!

Did you hear that?

That was the sound of you being informed after reading another BP article. If you believe local information should be free and accessible to all Philadelphians, will you support Billy Penn today?

Informing Philadelphians, one story at a time

Your generous donation brought this article to life. Become a sustaining member today to continue Billy Penn’s work.

Bring a friend into the Billy Penn-verse

Thanks for reading another story! Know a fellow Philadelphian that would appreciate BP? Tell them about our newsletter.