Farewell, summer: Here are the closing dates for Philly’s public pools

All the community swim spots will be shut down for the season by Aug. 24.

The 2017 closing sign at Marian Anderson pool

The 2017 closing sign at Marian Anderson pool

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn
michaelawinberg-square-crop-feb2018

Farewell, Summer 2018. The season doesn’t officially end until late September, of course, and we’ve still got a few weeks before Labor Day, but there’s a reliable indicator telling us right now to pack up our swimsuits and finish back-to-school shopping:

Philly’s public pools have started to close for the season.

Some have closed already. The first goodbyes were bid on Aug. 9 to neighborhood pools at Jacobs Playground and MLK Rec. At least one public pool has shut its doors every day since. They’ll all be closed by Friday, Aug. 24.

Here are the 2018 shutdown dates for Philly’s community pools:

Thursday, Aug. 9

Friday, Aug. 10

Saturday, Aug. 11

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Kelly Pool in Fairmount Park will close on Aug. 24.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Sunday, Aug. 12

Monday, Aug. 13

Tuesday, Aug. 14

Wednesday, Aug. 15

Thursday, Aug. 16

The pool at Samuel Recreation Center is set to open on Friday, June 21.

The pool at Samuel Recreation Center is set to close on Aug. 24.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Friday, Aug. 17

Sunday, Aug. 19

Monday, Aug. 20

Tuesday, Aug. 21

A swimmer pushes off the pool wall to swim a lap the length of Kelly Pool.

A swimmer pushes off the pool wall to swim a lap the length of Kelly Pool.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Wednesday, Aug. 22

Thursday, Aug. 23

Friday, Aug. 24

Lifeguards will work at Kelly Pool until it closes next Friday.

Lifeguards will work at Kelly Pool until it closes next Friday.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Thanks for reading another Billy Penn story

Seems you’re the kind of person who really digs in. Want more? Sign up for our free morning newsletter, the easy way to stay on top of Philly news.

Thanks for reading Billy Penn

Like the story above, everything we publish is powered by our members. If you enjoy reading, join today: Just $5/month makes more difference than you’d think.

Thanks for reading! We need you.

Reader donations power our newsroom. If Billy Penn helps you feel more connected to Philly, we’d love to count you as a member. Will you join us?

Lock in your support

Reader support powers our newsroom. A monthly membership helps lock it in.

Can we count on you as a Billy Penn sustainer?

Winning the local journalism game

Thank you: Member support powers our newsroom.

Know someone else who might like our work? Invite them to sign up for our free morning newsletter.