Farewell, summer: Here are the closing dates for Philly’s public pools

All the community swim spots will be shut down for the season by Aug. 24.

The 2017 closing sign at Marian Anderson pool

The 2017 closing sign at Marian Anderson pool

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn
michaelawinberg-square-crop-feb2018

Farewell, Summer 2018. The season doesn’t officially end until late September, of course, and we’ve still got a few weeks before Labor Day, but there’s a reliable indicator telling us right now to pack up our swimsuits and finish back-to-school shopping:

Philly’s public pools have started to close for the season.

Some have closed already. The first goodbyes were bid on Aug. 9 to neighborhood pools at Jacobs Playground and MLK Rec. At least one public pool has shut its doors every day since. They’ll all be closed by Friday, Aug. 24.

Here are the 2018 shutdown dates for Philly’s community pools:

Thursday, Aug. 9

Friday, Aug. 10

Saturday, Aug. 11

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Kelly Pool in Fairmount Park will close on Aug. 24.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Sunday, Aug. 12

Monday, Aug. 13

Tuesday, Aug. 14

Wednesday, Aug. 15

Thursday, Aug. 16

The pool at Samuel Recreation Center is set to close on Aug. 24.

The pool at Samuel Recreation Center is set to close on Aug. 24.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Friday, Aug. 17

Sunday, Aug. 19

Monday, Aug. 20

Tuesday, Aug. 21

A swimmer pushes off the pool wall to swim a lap the length of Kelly Pool.

A swimmer pushes off the pool wall to swim a lap the length of Kelly Pool.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Wednesday, Aug. 22

Thursday, Aug. 23

Friday, Aug. 24

Lifeguards will work at Kelly Pool until it closes next Friday.

Lifeguards will work at Kelly Pool until it closes next Friday.

Sydney Schaefer / Billy Penn

Thanks for reading all the way

Seems you’re the kind of person who really digs in. Want more? Get an update direct to your inbox each morning, with everything you need to stay on top of Philly news.

Thanks for reading all the way

Been seeing you here a lot lately — seems like you’re the kind of newshound who really digs in. If you value the info we provide, become a member today!

Billy Penn runs on reader support

Like the story above, everything we publish is powered by people like you. If our work helps you learn about Philadelphia, we’d love to count you as a member.

Lock in your support

The article above was published thanks to your support! A monthly membership will help ensure Billy Penn can keep reporting on Philly news.

Spread the love

Billy Penn members like you are the reason our newsroom keeps going. Know someone who might want to support our work? Send them a note — they just might join the local journalism fight.